-7.0 ℃

The restriction on opening direct routes from Estonia will continue also beyond August 31 with exceptions granted to six cities


The Government of the Republic decided to extend the restriction of routes departing from Estonia to and arriving in Estonia from countries with high risk of corona infection also to fall and make exceptions to Warsaw, Copenhagen, Frankfurt, Riga, Helsinki and London, which will be kept open regardless of the infection rate in the country. The need to continue with the restrictions shall be decided by the Government on a current basis pursuant to the epidemiological situation. 

According to Taavi Aas, Minister of Economic Affairs and Infrastructure, the situation has changed and accordingly, he suggested the Government to make at least six exceptions for now. “We must keep connections with hubs that are important for Estonia’s economy, to ensure that our people can take the necessary flights. The restriction of the Government that was effective so far, has most definitely had preventive impact and the changes made today are based on the situation at hand,” Aas explained.

In permitting and prohibiting the countries of destination, the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Economy proceeds from the infection rate of the other countries, which must be 25 or less per 100,000 inhabitants during the last 14 days to open the route. The Ministry reviews the epidemiological situation in the countries of destination every Friday afternoon and opens or restricts the opening of routes according to the spread of the virus.

At its cabinet meeting on August 28, the Government decided on the exceptions concerning Warsaw, Copenhagen, Frankfurt, Riga, Helsinki and London. It is possible to open routes with these destinations from Estonia regardless of the infection rate for the last 14 days.

As at August 28, airlines are allowed to open direct routes between Estonia and Denmark, United Kingdom, Germany, Cyprus, Slovenia, Italy, Slovakia, Lithuania, Norway, Finland, Hungary, Poland and Latvia. It is prohibited to open direct flights between Spain, Andorra, Luxembourg, Malta, Romania, Monaco, Croatia, France, Belgium, Holland, Switzerland, Austria, Liechtenstein, Czech Republic, Sweden, Ireland, Island, Portugal, Greece, Bulgaria, Russia and the Ukraine. Still, opening of the routes depends also on the rules in the country of destination. Likewise in Estonia, restrictions apply also when entering the other countries, which should be considered before planning the trip.

The restrictions were applied starting from May 18 and according to the decree, will remain in effect until the end of this year. “We are monitoring the situation, and we will most definitely end the restriction sooner, whenever possible,” Aas specified. Further need for the restriction is being assessed by the Government on a current basis, proceeding from the epidemiological situation. The cumulative number of coronavirus infections per 100,000 inhabitants of countries during the last 14 days is available HERE.

Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications
Press release


To install this Web App in your iPhone/iPad press and then Add to Home Screen.